Friday, December 31, 2010

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Mountain Town Sketches

sketches from today and yesterday. i went on the underground tour of Seattle and the tour guide told us of the people who lived on the hill above the water. it has apparently inspired some part of me. i think it would make for some really amazing visuals of having people in shanty towns on mountains.

i'm going to keep developing these sketches and see what happens.

Friday, December 03, 2010


it's fun to see all the artists who inspire me the most in one image.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Little Shop Sketches

i did these while watching little shop of horrors for the first time. the characters, story, and music were so good.

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Viking vs Ninja Sketches

these are for a personal project with a friend. a good reason to learn more about character design for animation, too.

Monday, November 15, 2010

Life Drawing

this model was awesome. probably the most serious model i've ever drawn, it was great. his poses were really dramatic. it was like he had posed for Frazetta or something. funny thing was, during the break he never put a robe on, he just hung out in the nude.

check out my co-worker's blog, his work is inspiring, to say the least.

Friday, October 08, 2010


15 minute poses

Monday, October 04, 2010


i think i'll give him a costume next.

Sunday, September 12, 2010


5-15 minute poses.

Gouche Sketches

more sketches.
looking at for inspiration.

Friday, September 10, 2010

Smokestack Sketch

these were painted at a derelict factory in Andover, MA.
45 min each.

Tuesday, September 07, 2010

Cemetary Sketch

near andover, ma. gouache.
45 min.

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Tank City WIP-color

original sketch-

one day it will be finished. i like this quote from Bob Peak.

"Now, in every assignment, there is a great deal of preparatory thought. The actual execution of a painting takes about three hours. Few of the drawings take over one hour. Really though, this is a misleading statement. A painting may take ten years..."

"... that is to say, it was ten years before I could do it."

i found it at this blog-

Sunday, August 15, 2010


photoshop over a loose pencil drawing. for a contest at

the theme was Nightmares. the idea is sort of from Monsters Inc. i love the idea of a couple of bullies going after a gentle monster. poor guy. so anyways, the kids are the monster's nightmare.

Friday, August 13, 2010


it seems all i do these days are quick studies from life, imagination, or other artists. this is a collection of quick gouache thumbnails from the past month or so. the top one is the latest.

Tuesday, August 03, 2010

Friday, July 23, 2010